Leon Thomas Announces His “Genesis” EP

Actor, Producer, Singer, Songwriter, Leon Thomas is releasing his latest EP ‘Genesis’ on August 24th

At 25-years-old there aren’t many young artist this musically inclined. The 7-track EP Genesis feature vocals, songwriting and production from Leon Thomas himself. Mentee of musical legend, Babyface, Thomas garnered a 2015 GRAMMY® for “Best R&B Album” after his contributions to the chart-topping Toni Braxton & Babyface collaboration: Love, Marriage & Divorce. Leon has stacked quite a few credits as half of production duo, The Rascals. Also as a writer for artists such as Ariana Grande, Chris Brown, Post Malone and Zendaya.

This isn’t Leon’s first release as an artist. 2012 saw his mixtape debut, Metro Hearts, released on Rostrum Records, which was followed up by the 2014 release of V1bes. It’s been some time since the last official body of work. See outside of music, LT is also quite the talented actor. From starring roles on Broadway hits such as, The Lion King, Caroline, and The Color Purple. To recurring roles on Nickelodeon sitcom Victorious & HBO hit Insecure. Recent years also found Leon starring in the critically acclaimed drama Detroit by Academy® Award-winning director Kathryn Bigelow.

Leon took to twitter earlier today to announce the coming EP, and released a new track entitled “PLW.” I had the privilege of hearing this track with a live band earlier this year at Nema’s Boom Boom Room. And I am more than excited to hear the rest of the EP. The vibes will be lead by the hit single, Favorite, featuring BUDDY, with almost 5 million streams to date it cracked the top 20 on Billboard’s Adult R&B Songs Chart. GRAMMY® nominee, Elle Varner, makes an appearance on the album as well.


1. Favorite

2. PLW

3. Sunken Place

4. Moments After

5. Blessing

6. Beg

7. Mrs. Variety

Mark your calendars for August 24th and preorder the EP – HERE. After checking out the video below be sure to check out, 6LACK’s latest release, ‘nonchalant.’

More Stories
Justin Bieber Returns with the Smooth Single “Yummy”