It’s been five years since Erykah Badu has released a project and fans have been anxious, collaborations with the likes of Flying Lotus and Thundercat held fans over but a new record was due. After receiving critical acclaim for her reworking of Drake’s hit “Hotline bling”, Badu announced her debut mixtape (6th project overall) “But You Caint Use My Phone”. The 11-track tape features appearances by Drake and Andre 3000, the latter of the two performed a soulful rendition of the Isley Brother’s “Hello it’s Me” with “Hello”.


While not a traditional mixtape by not being released for free or at a name your price option, the use of interpolations by the likes of Usher, New Edition and the Isley’s the record itself in sound pays homage to the mixtape while effortlessly segueing between songs. As of right now the mixtape is only exclusive on Apple Music and can be purchased individually, with a full tape release and availability on other platforms starting Dec. 4th. Stream “But You Caint Use My Phone”

But You Caint Use My Phone Mixtape

1. Caint Use My Phone Suite [Download]
2. Hi [Download]
3. Cell U Lar Device [Download]
4. Phone Down [Download]
5. U Use To Call Me [Download]
6. Mr. Telephone Man [Download]
7. U Don’t Have To Call [Download]
8. Whats Yo Phone Number [Download]
9. Dial’afreaq [Download]
10. I’ll Call U Back [Download]
11. Hello feat. Andre 3000 [Download]